The EU regional Competitiveness Index 2019


The Regional Competitiveness Index (RCI) measures the different dimensions of competitiveness at the regional level in the European Union (level NUTS 2, provinces for Belgium). They are all built on the approach of the Global Competitiveness Index of the World Economic Forum (GCI-WEF). The 2016 index is based on 74 mostly regional indicators covering the 2012-2014 period, but with a number of indicators from 2015 and 2016.

The RCI is composed of 11 pillars that describe the different aspects of competitiveness. They are classified into three groups: Basic, Efficiency and Innovation.

The Basic group includes five pillars:

(1) Institutions;

(2) Macroeconomic Stability;

(3) Infrastructure;

(4) Health;

(5) Basic Education.

The Efficiency group includes three pillars:

(6) Higher Education, Training and Lifelong Learning;

(7) Labour Market Efficiency;

(8) Market Size.

The Innovation group consists of three pillars:

(9) Technological Readiness;

(10) Business Sophistication;

(11) Innovation.

Two pillars are described at the country level only: Macroeconomic stability and Basic Education.